Short Update

Aug 23, 2011

Got a ride from a trucker going to Orlando. Got dropped off at a truck stop in Daytona. Now it’s time for my friend Ron to make good on the lasagna dinner he promised! Mmmmm! Very cloudy here with showers off & on. Will probably make it home tomorrow. It will be good to see familiar faces again.

Total mileage: 2,450

 

Aug 22, 2011

I made it to Bennettsville SC where I am at a beautiful historic home of a Couch Surfer host. From here I will continue south about 20 miles to a truck stop on I-95. Hopefully hurricane Irene won’t cause me problems getting back. More later.

About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

9 responses »

  1. Ron, what size clothes are you wearing? I may have clothes for you if the size is right. Where shall I send them, Michelle’s?

    Reply
    • I have clothes. Not much of my stuff sold after I left and I had plenty of jeans and shirts from when I was “fitter.”

      I weighed myself last night and I’m down to 165 lbs. again! Go me!

      Reply
  2. Dee, If you can catch Alex before she heads south on the 29th she can take them to Orlando which is 3 hours closer to Merritt Island than I am.

    Reply
  3. Ron there was a group of 11 people riding their bikes from Key West to Maine. The most northly point in the state. Here is their website bike4christ.com KEEP THE WIND AT YOUR BACK. Stay safe.

    Reply
  4. Watch out for Irene! I hope you’re able to sing, “Good Night, Irene” to that hurricane!

    Reply
  5. Got a question fer ya. You show your total mileage to date as 2,450. If I Mapquest Merritt Island to Phillipsburg, the total mileage would be about 1,050, give or take a few miles. How do you calculate your mileage to come up with that many miles when it seems you haven’t traveled that far? Maybe a lot of criss-crossing along the way?

    Reply
    • Remember I toured around Florida before going north. Plus I did a lot of riding in the towns I stopped in. When I get settled a bit here I will make a composite of all my GPS tracker data which will show the exact routes I traveled from day one to end. The mileage I post comes from the odometer on my bike. I compare that with my GPS mileage readings and they are never off by more than a few 10th’s of a mile at the end of the day. There are days when the battery went dead or I forgot to turn the tracker on right away, but the bike odometer will be the most accurate because the battery has never died and it’s always on.

      Reply
  6. OK Ron it time to eat. My mon make great food.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

