Lexington To Concord

My energy levels seemed to be a little low today or these hills have grown since I traveled them last. I didn’t find a good place to eat breakfast until 10:15 AM and by then the restaurant wasn’t serving breakfast anymore. So I adjusted my taste buds and had lunch instead at Smokey Joe’s Barbecue in Lexington. This is the town that has life size pigs throughout the town at selected locations. Smokey Joe’s had one too. I asked the waitress why they were all over the town. She looked at me with a smile and asked where I was from. I told her, Florida. “This is the barbecue capital!” she said loud enough for everyone in the restaurant to hear. “Oh!” I said just as loudly. “Where I come from, we have space shuttles all over our town.” She gave me a look like we just came to a draw in a game of chess and then she filled my coffee cup for me.

I feel like I made more rest stops today than normal. Maybe it was because I had to start hitting the hills early rather than later in my ride. The weather was very good most of the day and I managed to pass out a few more of my cards at my rest stops.

I’ve decided I’ll be retracing my route back to Charlotte where I forgot my rain jacket. Shawn and Stephen welcomed me back for a second “couch surf” at their home. I can already picture that nice comfy bed with the tupperware container full of mixed nuts and dried fruit on the table next to it, along with two small bottles of water and two granola bars. What class!

From Charlotte I’ll migrate over more to the east along the coast to cover new ground. Eventually I will stop in Daytona to see my friend Ron Alley who promised to make me a lasagna dinner!

When I rode through Kannapolis this time I stayed on Rt. 29 (Main St.) rather than the side roads I took coming up the first time. I’m glad I did because I got to see the Dale Earnhardt memorial that was built with funds from his fans and friends.

The bike is holding up rather well but the brakes are going to need some attention. Especially the rear brake. Between the pad wearing down and the cable stretch, the lever is making contact with the handlebars when I squeeze it. The calipers don’t open up too well either because of all the dirt that has worked it’s way into the moving parts.

Total mileage: 2,241

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

4 responses »

  1. Hey there friend. Let me know when you are going to be here New Symrna Beach. So I can get the fixing for our dinner, I am going to be in Ohio Sept. 5th til the 15th. Let me know when you will here. My days off are Monday and Tuesday. KEEP THE WIND AT YOU BACK.

    Reply
  2. If this were my trip, which, of course, we all know it isn’t, I’d take a different route back home to keep the road ahead fresh and new and experience different towns and people along the way. For the sake of a rain coat and one (I am sure very nice an comfy) couch, I would rather explore the unchartered. Good luck in whichever road you chose. David Frost always took the road less traveled.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

