The High Point Of High Point

My “Couch Surfer” contacts in High Point never replied to my requests for a couch which left me spending most of the night at Walmart and then later finding a nice dark, quiet spot next to large delivery truck that was backed up to a loading dock. The driveway was sunken between two grassy banks which provided privacy for me during the night. Since the next day was Sunday I wasn’t worried that truck would be going anywhere in the early hours while I was catching up on much needed sleep.

I found a Wi-Fi hotspot not far from there at a McDonald’s and did some online work. (playing games) Thanks to my anchorman, Bondo, I was able to afford a burger and a coffee. I packed things up so I could go back outside and get warmed up when Okey Dokey the goat pulled up next to me in the parking lot. With the back seat all to himself he was very content and seemed very comfortable.

The owner of Okey Dokey, whose name escapes me right now, explained that he is in the process of moving to Switzerland with Okey Dokey where he owns land and a house. Because of legal red tape he must take Okey Dokey to Canada in order to get him to Switzerland.

If you look at Okey Dokey’s horns you’ll see rubber horn guards. The owner says they are bicycle hand grips that he glued on. He said nothing about how many miles he rode Okey Dokey to get to High Point but I’ll bet I got him beat.

In the morning I’ll make contact with Victory Junction and work out the fine details of my visit. In the meantime I may move further down the road to Archdale and wait for the green flag to VJ.

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

2 responses »

  1. what’s the fuzzy thing in the front seat? Good Luck tomorrow Ron. Love, Dee xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

