Update

Posted on

I am at a McDonald’s now just to make a brief post. When I leave here I will cross into North Carolina within two minutes.

Early this morning I had another dog encounter. Heading north on SR 521 out of Lancaster three dogs spotted me and started running towards me from the other side of the highway. They didn’t cross the road and I turned and went back the way I came. There were two Doberman’s and a Rottweiler. I waited for about five minutes contemplating what to do and then called 911 for an officer to assist me. The officer met me and I showed him where the dogs were. He approached the area and all three dogs barked and surrounded his car. As I watched from a safe distance, the officer assessed the situation. After a few minutes the 911 operator called me back and said the officer believes the dogs have shock collars and would probably not leave the property. I told the operator I didn’t feel good about testing shock collars. She said the officer would wait in the median until I got past. I asked if the officer would get out of his car while waiting in the median to see if the dogs crossed the barrier. She reported the officer said no.

The officer came back to where I was to see what I wanted him to do. He was unable to locate owners by running tag numbers on cars parked in the driveway. I told him I was not familiar with the area and asked him if there was another way around the dogs. He gave me directions to get around and I was on my way.

Enjoy some photos for now.

My first encounter with the hills of South Carolina

My first glimpse where everything else was below me.

Gervais St. Bridge, Columbia SC

Gervais St. Bridge over Three Rivers, Columbia SC

Walkway bridge along Three Rivers Greenway, Columbia SC

Railroad bridges over Three Rivers Columbia SC

I thought my journey came abruptly to an end!

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

4 responses »

  1. I WISH I HAD KNOWN THAT YOU WERE GOING TO COLUMBIA,SC. THERE IS A PLACE NAMED MAURICE’S WHICH SERVES A MUSTARD BASED BBQ. DELICIOUS. CONTINUED GOOD LUCK.

    Reply
    • YES! I had a chance to try it when I stayed with Jim Griggers, member of Couch Surfers. He made a delicious chicken dish using Maurice’s BBQ sauce! Awesome flavor!

      Reply
  2. derwin jeffcoat

    it was good to meet you the other night. wish you well on your journey.. be safe out there on these roads.

    Reply
    • Thank you Derwin,

      Now that I’m out of your area you won’t have to worry about that call to scrap up some cyclist off the road. Thanks for the stay and the company. It was great to meet you and Scott.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

