Savannah To Walterboro

Posted on

I would say 80% of the trip from Savannah to Walterboro has been riding the white line on the right side of the highways.

The three miles of the N. Coastal Highway, SC 170, (Alligator Alley) was a very good ride. Although I still had to ride the white line the traffic was light. There were a few flat, short bridges to cross which meant less room to play with. Sometimes I had to wait to be sure I could scamper across the bridge without traffic coming up behind me. There were times when no traffic was coming from either direction and all the sounds of nature were in the air for me to enjoy. The breeze was pleasant with scents and the scenery constantly changing from marshes to swamps to many different varieties of vegetation. The road was littered in spots with the remains of Grasshoppers that met their fate from the speeding vehicles crossing their path.

The ride into Hardeeville was stressful due to the increase in traffic as I had to keep focus on the white line for any imperfections that might cause me swerve either way on the road. When I arrived in Hardeeville the road widened and I had a lane all to myself. I felt as though I reached that rest period between levels in a video game. Sitting in a parking lot at a fireworks store was a Hardeeville sheriff. I saw him pass by me earlier. I rode over to his car and he rolled down his window and asked how he could help me. I told him I was OK but my ride was like a balancing act traveling into town. I explained to him what I was doing in his town and asked if he knew of anywhere I might pitch my tent for the night. He really tried to help me but couldn’t think of anywhere I could go at the time. I thanked him and handed him my card and headed for the Waffle House further up the road.

There were a few tourists in the area and I managed to scrap up a few bucks and get a cheap motel room for the night. It was blessing after the ride I had just put behind me.

Crossing into S.C. along Alligator Alley

The next morning I set out for Walterboro, a 63 mile run. This was more white line riding until I reached Ridgeland where I was able to cross over to a frontage road that ran alongside I-95. It was still a narrow road but the traffic was very light and a lot less stressful.

I arrived in Yemassee and found a Denny’s where I ate lunch. This gave me a chance to connect online and check my maps again. Back on the road, it was a quiet ride most of the way into Walterboro. Beautiful countryside and wooded areas, swamps and aged homes that the earth was calling back. There is a lot of black culture along the way and small churches were common. There also seemed to be many classic cars that were laid to rest on some properties and of course farm equipment.

Closer to Walterboro were estates and plantations, most with gates and keypads. Riding into the town was hazardous too, due to nonexistent bike paths. This became better as I got closer to I-95 where the town was more developed. I got into town around 6PM and didn’t have much time to look for a place to sleep that night. Again I found myself at a Huddle House waiting for the sun to rise. While there I met a few nice people that helped sponsor my ride and I was able to get a room early in the morning and have a long stay. The place I stayed at had Wi-Wi but they couldn’t get it work, so here I am at the Super 8 motel lobby in Walterboro borrowing their Wi-Fi. Thank you, Debra Jones.

I’ll be checking the maps and planning my best route  to Randleman N.C. from here in the morning.

Total mileage: 1,670

Somewhere near Savannah

Downtown Savannah

The Talmadge bridge in the background from Alligator Alley

Many of these across Alligator Alley in SC

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

9 responses »

  1. I love this phrase: “aged homes that the earth was calling back.”

    Reply
  2. Thanks for another exciting installment, I do enjoy reading your blog.

    Reply
  3. Cathy Goretsky

    Ron,
    I thought you were just going to travel around Florida and then come back and regroup before setting out to tour the country and here you are going further and further north. I guess maybe I didn’t understand that you were going for the long haul without coming back to take stock and rest up a bit. I am really enjoying your postings and have been forwarding them to my son who looks forward to each new post. Your photos are just beautiful. Surely this will become a book! May the wind be always at your back, my friend. Take care and God be with you on your journey! Big hug!

    Reply
    • Hi Cathy! Yes, there will be a break before my trip across the U.S. but I decided to skip going to Key West and head to North Carolina to pay a visit to Victory Junction. They will be my charity when I make my journey and I hope to make people aware of the organization and generate donations for them through my site. I’ll be going for a meet and greet to get photos and shake hands for an entry on my blog to help make the charity a little more personal to my visitors.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying everything thus far. There are so many details that I don’t I write about simply because I don’t have the time or place to do it all. The best places for me to get the work done is usually a motel but my personal funds are about used up. I’m at a library now in St. George but I feel I’m wasting daylight by not traveling.

      Big hugs back to you, Cathy. Thanks riding with me!

      Ron

      Reply
  4. The locus you talk of is actually a grasshopper. The Southeastern Lubber. Sometimes called the Eastern Lubber.

    Reply
  5. North Carolina and then West???

    Reply

Leave a Reply

