Hinesville To Savannah

Posted on

Right after I started my ride around Florida I joined Couch Surfing to increase my chances of finding places to rest for the night and to meet people with similar interests. My success rate wasn’t too good mainly because of my own lack of pre-planning or unexpected delays. Usually I can never give a prospective “couch host” enough time to prepare for a visit from me. This all changed when again, I requested a couch as the sun was getting ready to sink in the western Hinesville sky. To my surprise, my phone rang Wednesday evening and I was offered my very first couch. Not only was it my first couch but I was also the first “couch surfer” for Jessica & Martin Robertson.

Jessica & Link. Martin had to leave before the photo.

When I arrived at the Robertson’s I was greeted by Jessica who welcomed me into their house and showed me my couch for the night. Martin was busy in another room disassembling a bed or something as they are in the process of moving. We all insisted that a shower was the first thing I should get out of the way before anything else.

Also living in the house is their baby daughter, Ellie. I never got to see Ellie because she slept through most of my visit. I did hear her cry once when I first arrived but after that, not a peep. I met Thomas, their roommate and Link, their Great Dane who thinks he’s still a puppy.

I got a good night’s sleep and a fresh cup of organic coffee in the morning. It was a great first couch surfing experience for me and hope to have a few more in my travels.

Yesterday after my arrival into Savannah, I found out from my sister Dee, that her husband Ray, has a brother that lives not far from where I was. Some phone calls were made and before nightfall I had another safe place to rest for the night. Al & Anita treated me as though they have known me all my life. They live in a beautiful area on Wilmington Island, just south of Savannah. They provided me with my own room complete with shower, sink, mirror, bed, roll top desk and Wi-Fi! I felt like I was at a fine hotel with a house attached to it. Anita made sure I got anything I needed including clean clothes. What more could I ask for! I was treated to dinner and breakfast and a small tour of the town. I was also given some mixed nuts to munch on during our conversations.

Anita, Maxine and Al

This was a special visit for me because I never expected that I would have stumbled into “family” territory again during my travels. I can’t thank Al & Anita enough for their hospitality or for being able to accommodate on such short notice.

Message inscribed on a picnic table where I rested.

Photo by Anita Vevasis

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

4 responses »

  1. Recently, I have been thinking quite a bit about family.

    I had a particularly disfunctional childhood that I won’t elaborate on, and have never kept in touch with the vast majority of my relatives. However, I have recently decided to change that. A 2 week old grandson and, maybe, just getting older has shown me the way and now wish to undo some of the damage done. I have made some small steps toward reaquainting myself with relatives, and have begun researching my family tree.

    Anyway, enough about me.

    the reason I decided to comment, is that I think maybe you have an opportunity here. I don’t know your family situation, but maybe you could make a quick outline of family and “family of family” that live along your way. Just duplicate what you did here with various cousins and the like throughout the country.

    It looks like your experience with Anita and Al was a good one. maybe you can have several more of those along the way. Just a thought.

    By the way, I hope you are keeping notes. So far, this trip has the makings of quite a memoir.

    Reply
  2. DENISE BODEMA

    SO COOL JAY….I HAVEN’T SEEN AL & ANITA FOR AGES. THEY ARE VERY NICE PEOPLE. THATS FANTASTIC THEY WERE ON YOUR ROUTE. I WOULD BE AFRAID STAYING WITH PEOPLE I DON’T KNOW. WISH I KNEW SOMEONE WHO IS ON YOUR ROUTE ;-( BE CAREFUL AS ALWAYS

    LOVE YA
    DENISE
    XOXOXOXO

    Reply
  3. I can say nothing about this post due to always wiping my tears. As Denise said, be careful out there. Love ya. Dee

    Reply
  4. Too bad you are not going across America by traveling along the gulf coast, via Texas. Then you could couch surf here. Oh well. Have fun. Am enjoying your posts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

