Update

Posted on

This morning I was chased by my very first dog. Just outside of Jesup I passed a house that was set back from the highway. I’ve been very keen to scan houses as I pass them especially when there is no barrier or fence around it. As I passed this particular house without a fence, I noticed a small dog that was tied to the front porch. When he saw me he started to bark. I felt OK because I could see he was tied and posed no danger, mainly because he was small. Then out from the side of the house came a black, medium sized mutt at full speed. As a reaction I started to pedal faster and then realized how fruitless that was. He was coming fast but I didn’t think he was going to really give me a problem. He looked like a friendly dog that would you keep in the house; well cared for. A nice shiny coat and healthy looking.

I grabbed my air horn that is Velcro’d to the bike for easy access. When he caught up to me he kept pace and kept barking but made no attempt to go for me. He was at a slightly higher level than I was because of the curb and if he wanted to really go for me I think he knew it would be dangerous for him too. He kept running with me and barking when I raised the horn at him and pressed the button producing a short, loud, high pitched blast. Immediately he broke the chase off with his ears back and tail between his legs. He kept looking back at me as he galloped away and I kept looking back at him. I blew the fog out of the horn and stuck it back on the Velcro patch and continued on, smiling as I realized the money I spent on the horn was a good investment.

Thank you Ari Gold for the tip on the air horn! A harmless deterrent.

I just want to thank the people at LaQuinta Inns & Suites, Hinesville/Fort Stewart for allowing me to sit in their lobby to use the Wi-Fi so I could plan my next route to Savannah.

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

6 responses »

  1. Ron, I was waiting for this event to happen. Always wondered if the air horn thing would work. Glad it did. I could picture it all going down as I read what you wrote. At times I wish I was riding with you, then the realization of my hurting buttocks makes me laugh.
    Continue being safe and enjoy your ride.
    Love Dee

    Reply
    • 🙂 on the hurting buttocks. You sit back and enjoy the ride. I’ll take the bullet for you. Like you, I’ve been waiting for this event also. Now I feel sort of “seasoned” for it! LOL!

      XOXOX

      Reply
  2. As he rides off into the sunset, after taming the wild beast with his air horn, the tune from The Good, The Bad and The Ugly begins to play.

    Reply
  3. Har-dee-har-har-har! Ron your post cracked me up. I got a good visual of that scene, i’m glad you got away unhurt. But you know i would have laughed my b-tt off if you wiped out! Lol. (not got hurt or the bike) like just in the soft grass. Ha ha ha! That’s just how we, ( you & i ) roll. Love ya man, your friend,

    Reply

Leave a Reply

