Update

Posted on

I’m in Jacksonville resting for a day after having to backtrack several miles in the rain due to some sign trickery. I need to air out my tent from the rain at Hanna Campground so it doesn’t develop a mold problem. Unless it can dry out completely from direct sun there will be moisture to deal with. There hasn’t been that much direct sun lately but the sun has broken through the clouds now.

I bought a rain jacket a few weeks ago and yesterday was the first time I really needed to use it. It was great for about the first 30 minutes until I started to get hot from riding. Luckily the rain slowed down and I was able to remove it for a while. It does the job though, so I’ll hang onto it.

I’ve been monitoring the weather and rain seems to be in the forecast for awhile so I’ll probably have to plan on short jumps from spot to spot. As I move further north there will fewer and fewer spots to escape the rain. There are some long distances to be covered and from what I calculate, about 540 miles to my destination. I suspect there will be few places for Wi-Fi and cell service along the way.

My mattress money is running low so tomorrow I’ll look for some work and scout for sponsors. I have a feeling I’ll be needing to repair the crank on the bike. I can feel the bearings getting a little rough. In the ten years I’ve owned it, this will be the third time I’ve had to repair the bearings. There is just no way to inject grease into it to make it last longer without taking it all apart, and of course it takes special tools, which I don’t have, to do the job.

I was trying on new shoes at Walmart back when I was in Dunnellon and found a pair I liked. The price was right but I decided to wait until I find a pair that are truly waterproof. I got to thinking about my old shoes when I get new ones. I would have to throw them away. In a way I felt a little sad about that. I’ve never had a problem throwing out old shoes. But this time is different. The soles of my shoes now have the imprint of my pedals in them. They’ve transported me more than 1,260 miles over bridges, highways, roads, bike paths, fields, mud puddles, city streets, and state parks. Somehow I feel like I’d be leaving an old friend behind. They have served me well and to just throw them away kind of makes me feel ungrateful. I’m wondering if maybe that’s the real reason why I didn’t buy the new ones.

Old Friends

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

21 responses »

  1. Those shoes look like that have a lot of wear left in them. I don’t see any holes. Maybe when they really have to be put to rest you can mail them back home to a friend who can store them for you.

    I hope you can find a route that has adequate stopping spots and access to the necessities like safe sleeping spots and Wi-Fi.

    Reply
    • The shoes are very flexible and the heels are starting to split. I really need a stiffer shoe for maximum efficiency. They are not waterproof and get soaked easily by spray from the front wheel. I think a nice burial would be the thing to do when my old shoes expire, God rest their soles.

      Thanks Ollie, nice to see you!

      Reply
  2. Ron most motels have wifi ou can set outside weather permitting and use thier wifi. Stay dry and MAY THE WIND BE ALWAYS AT YOUR BACK.

    Reply
    • Motels usually have passwords for their free Wi-Fi. Some will let you connect for free without being a guest but again the chances are reduced. McDonalds has free Wi-Fi but most times you can’t find any outlets to plug in the laptop. I usually I need several hours to edit photos, create maps from my tracking data and to write entries for the blog. Not to mention using Google Earth/Maps to plan my next destination. My laptop battery lasts about 90 minutes on a full charge. Starbucks and Panera Bread are great for Wi-Fi but they keep it so cold inside it’s impossible to sit there that long without a campfire to keep you warm!

      Besides, there are few motels in the direction I’ll be going. There will probably be more scarecrows than hotspots.

      Reply
  3. Ron, like I tell my son…you cannot be sentimental about items of which you speak. They are sneakers, that’s it. You will fool yourself into an area of some sort of depression over nothing.
    Have you seen the show, Hoarders yet?
    Buy the new ones and keep peddling my brother. It’s what you need to do.
    xoxo

    Reply
    • I haven’t had a TV in 30 years. Everything I own is on my bike. I doubt that classifies me as a “hoarder.” 🙂 It’s not really anything I’ll go into a depression about. I was just surprised that it hit me that way when I considered throwing the shoes away. I never saw it coming. I felt like Tom Hanks when he lost Wilson, just on a reduced scale. lol.

      Thanks Dee, XOXO

      Reply
      • MAIL THEM TO A FRIEND….GET THEM BRONZED WITH A PLAQUE…1000+ MILES ON MY JOURNEY…..I GET YA CUZ….I WOULDN’T TOSS THEM EITHER….I’M SENTIMENTAL OVER EVERYTHING……MUST RUN IN THE FAMILY FOR SOME OF US LOL…..

        LOVE YA,
        DENISE
        XOXOXOXOXO

      • Get them bronzed? Are you trying to tell me my shoes stink?

      • actually you don’t need to own a tv to see the show and if you think of bronzing, where do they go after that? handlebars??? ha-ha
        Vegas?, that’s funnier. you guys sleigh me. peddle safely. xoxo

  4. Everyone is missing the Big Picture here. It’s “money”. Hold on to them shoes and place them up for bid or hold on to them until you get to Vegas and pawn them at Gold & Silver Pawn Shop. Talk to Rick, the owner! He is the owner of the show Pawn Stars that is a big hit on TV.

    Reply
    • *rubs hands together* Yes! Yes! I’m moving you from logistics to marketing and promotions!

      Reply
    • YEAH….I LOVE THAT SHOW….IF RICK WON’T BUY THEM, CHUMLY WILL !!! LOL….LET ME KNOW WHEN THE SHOW AIRS…I WILL BE FRONT & CENTER….GOOD ONE SHELL…..THEN HE CAN SELL THE BIKE TO THE ” AMERICAN PICKERS” THEY LOVE BIKES OF ANY KIND….THE “JAY GLIDER” WILL BRING BIG BUCKS……NO MORE WORKING FOR “BIKE2CLOUD9” 😉

      LOVE YA MORE NOW RICH CUZ
      XOXOXOXOXO

      Reply
  5. You aren’t too far from where the first French colonies were… Ft. Caroline, and St. John’s Bluff. You should see if they have a historical site for ’em. If you never heard of ’em I’m not surprised. The Spanish found out they were there… Another thing you could look for while you are over that way is one of the Spanish missions… There’s a few archaeological sites… This one should be near you… as the Guale territory was right above Jacksonville along the coast.

    “Santa Catalina de Guale

    Santa Catalina de Guale (1602-1702) was a Spanish Franciscan mission and town in Spanish Florida. Part of Spain’s effort to convert the Native Americans to Catholicism, Santa Catalina served as the provincial headquarters of the Guale mission province. It also served various non-religious functions, such as providing food and labor for the colonial capital of St. Augustine. The mission was located on St. Catherines Island from 1602 to 1680, then on Sapelo Island from 1680 to 1684, and finally on Amelia Island from 1684 to 1702”.

    Reply
  6. Best shoes I’ve found are the Goretex ones by Vasque. They are good shoes, last a long time, and are comfortable…

    Reply
  7. Dennis 'bondo' bruno

    Ive got enough stuff to sell, so whatever you do dont send them to me. Lol… Wal-mart bag em & tag em’. That will give you laughter and happiness! *.Fist bump x 3.*lol

    Reply
  8. Ron if you want to mail me your shoes i would be more than happy to tuck them away for safe keeping until you return. We still miss you like crazy at the restaurant. I hope you are okay. Where can we send u money? ? I would not mind making a contribution to the mattress fund. Let me know i want to help

    Reply
    • I put Bondo in charge of my bank account. He can see that I get any donations you want to contribute. Or you can use the DONATE button on the SPONSIFY page. I had to stop using the homing pigeons to carry the cash to me. They just couldn’t keep up.

      Reply
  9. Bondo and Moe = “Homey” Pigeons.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

