Tampa To Bayonet Point

Posted on

It was a long ride today. Most of the trip was rural areas and very little to take photos of. Going north on 587 to 54 was grueling. Very limited bike paths which forced me to ride the white line on the right side of the road most of the way. The drivers were very tolerant and gave me plenty of room or slowed down to pass. At one point there was a small narrow bridge where I needed to stop and wait for a clearing in traffic before going out into the road to get across. Just before I crossed the bridge a Pasco County Sheriff coming the other way turned his roof lights on and pointed at me to stop and then waved me over to his side of the road.

He asked me where I was from. I told him Merritt Island. He asked where that was and I told him it’s where Kennedy Space Center is located. He ran a check on my drivers license and sent me on my way. I thought about asking if I could take his picture but I didn’t. Guess I was really hard up for a photo today. Seems like most towns are copies of the same model. Burger Kings, Circle K’s and 7-11’s, CVS, etc. You really need to look for “personality” in towns anymore.

I did have to duck into a library to escape some rain. The Jimme B. Keel Regional Library is a very nice and very busy place. Talked to a few friendly people while waiting for the sun to shine again.

Once on route 54 I had very good bike path to travel on with one exception. Gnats! Tons of them. I had to keep my nose up or they would blow down into my sunglasses. My face was covered with them as were my arms, neck and shirt. I had to keep my mouth shut and breath slowly through my nose so I wouldn’t suck them in. I could see them like a fine mist in front of me and I could feel them hitting my face when I gained any speed. After the first mile I stopped trying to brush them off. It was useless. I finally stopped to wash my face and arms and when I looked into the mirror it was as though someone threw black pepper in my face. They were in my hair too!

In Port Richie I got to watch a Medi-Vac helicopter take off from a parking lot. I love helicopters. I hate Gnats.

Other than that, it was a good day to ride. Made it to Bayonet Point.

Mileage today: 43.1
Total mileage to date: 810

Cross-Eye 3D. Click on photo for larger size

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

One response »

  1. WELL YOU PASSED ME ‘-( WISH WE COULD HAVE VISITED AND OFFERED A SOFT BED AND A SHOWER …WE HAVE SOAP LOL……OH WELL……IM JUST GLAD YOUR OK…..BE SAFE

    LOVE YOU,
    DENISE
    XOXOXOX

    Reply

Leave a Reply

