Bradenton To Ybor City

Posted on

Tried to do my laundry this morning but the motel didn’t sell SOAP! At least they had coffee waiting in the front lobby. I grabbed a chocolate donut and a V8 then started riding. This is the area where bike trails end abruptly and either send you out onto the highway or into sandy paths where the wheels sink down in and stops you or you lose the steering altogether. If it is hard sand it’s usually bumpy.

Had some good tailwind today but when the road turns it can slow you down. I rode north on Rt. 301 to the Desoto Bridge which goes into Palmetto, just south of Tampa. It didn’t have a bike friendly path so I went under it along Waterfront Dr. and snaked my way along the waterfront to the Green Bridge a half mile west. The Green Bridge has a nice walkway for pedestrians and nice wide bike lane going across. They could sweep it a little to clean up the glass, rubble, and metallic objects though.

Bike symbol on the Green Bridge

I finally had lunch at a Publix where I weighed myself again. 177 lbs Baby!

Made several stops today. This time it was more to give my wrists a break. I think I still need more padding or something.

The skies were partly cloudy but I got a fair amount of direct sun. I applied sunscreen before I started out but my knees are pretty red. With all the sweating I’m doing it’s probably breaking it down as I go along.

In all it was a good ride. Most of the places are familiar now from when I went south earlier to Naples.

I’m in Ybor City so most everything will be new from here out. A lot of trucks around here and heavy traffic too. Sometimes I avoid intersections and cross the roads where there’s less activity to watch. It gets pretty dynamic at times.

I’ll need to do my laundry tonight or tomorrow morning. I hope this place has SOAP!

Mileage today: 42.6

The Green Bridge from Waterfront Dr.

A Drive-In in Ruskin. I thought drive-in's were a thing of the past.

Ruskin Drive-In

Ruskin Drive-In Movie Screen

Someplace nice.

Some Cross-Eye 3D.

Below The Desoto Bridge

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

3 responses »

  1. Denise Bodema Wynkoop

    Hey Jay, I just got home from the hospital after my bypass and dee sent me this journey of yours….I am following along with you….you have all of us along….please be safe we all love you and are all with you of course…..Happy peddling 😉

    Love,
    Denise xoxoxoxo

    Reply
    • Hi, Denise! Hope everything went well at the hospital for you. I should be crossing Old Tampa Bay in about 10 miles on SR 92. Travel is kind of slow because of the hustle & bustle of city life here. I’m at a Starbucks now sucking on an iced coffee. Thanks for riding with me. Hope you enjoy the ride.

      XOXO

      Reply
      • DOORS ARE OPEN LOVIE……BE SAFE…IM OK….HAD BLOCKAGE IN MY RIGHT LEG….SHOULD BE ABLE TO WALK SOON….BEEN 2 YRS ALREADY…..I JUST WORRY ABOUT YOUR SAFETY….NERVOUS NELLY HERE 😉

        LOVE,
        ME
        XOXOXO

Leave a Reply

