Ft. Myers To Venice

Posted on

If you haven’t read the comments under Naples to Koreshan State Historic Site, check out the great videos by my sister, Michelle.

Today was a good mileage day. Made several stops to consume mass quantities of liquids and two stops to eat. I had a late breakfast at Ihop that I couldn’t finish, which is very unlike me, and later I stopped at a roadside stand and ate a nice size peach. The girl said I could just have it free, so I tipped her a dollar.

Huh?

While cruising along a bike path which had grass on both sides, I rode through a couple of pockets of Gnats that stuck to my sweaty face and arms. Yuck! I stopped at a store to wash up and saw this sign in the restroom.

I handed out a few of my Bike2Cloud9 business cards to several people including a sheriff who pulled into the gas station I was resting at. I noticed he had one of those Tough Book computers in his car and mentioned that was the kind of PC that I needed for my trip.

So today was just a lot of hard pedaling, mostly after noon when I started getting a moderate headwind. My longest stretch came late in the day. I had about ten miles to go to get to Venice and the sun seemed to be sinking fast. I thought I was going to have to ride in with my lights on. It was a little over an hour to make my stop for the night and wash the Gnats out of my hair.

Happy Father’s Day, Pop! 🙂

Mileage today: 54

 

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

Leave a Reply

