Training Day 9

Posted on

Today was reunion day. I was up at 6 AM and had a bowl of Fruit Loops and a warm bagel with butter and of course coffee. No rain today even though at times it looked like it might.

I called Sharad Patel, a friend of mine that moved from Cape Canaveral to Bonita Springs several years ago. I was about ten miles away from him and hoped we could meet up. He was going to be in a meeting until 2:00, so I had some time to run off and go do some things I wanted to do and take a break from doing the things I want to do.

Me with my friend Sharad Patel

Me with my friend Sharad Patel

I made the short ten mile trip to his area and ended up at an IHOP to replace the breakfast I just burned off.

Sharad owned a print shop in Cape Canaveral and I had the opportunity to work with him at a time when things were tough. He is also the man that helped pay for the bike that I am riding around on now, which is the second one. He also helped pay for my first bike which was stolen because I didn’t lock it up. One of the hardest times of my life was having to tell him the bike was stolen. Regardless, he was kind enough to help me get the bike I have now and it’s been over ten years since he’s seen it. Sharad now owns a UPS Store in Bonita Springs where I met up with him and his lovely wife and beautiful daughter.

We had a few laughs and reminisced about the times we had together and before we parted, Sharad decided to help sponsor my ride like the generous man I’ve known him to be. Thank you Sharad. It was great to see you again!

My visit with Sharad put a serious dent in my travel time. I was going to have to really “pedal down” to get to my sister’s before dark. Luckily I had a tailwind part of the way and also some of the BEST and most beautiful bike paths I’ve seen so far. I made pretty good time and got to within 13 miles of my destination when I got a call from my sister telling me my fathers’  car had burned up. He had been out for a ride and when he got home, had parked the car in his usual spot. After going inside the house he heard some “pops” and an “explosion!” Dad is fine but the car is toast.

Today’s Mileage: 43

Look what I bought at the flea market!

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

3 responses »

  1. I will leave the gate open. You don’t want to waste too much time outsite–the mosquitoes are really bad.

    Reply
  2. Dennis 'bondo' bruno

    Good score on that anchor. We’ll hold out for the highest bidder. Lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

