Stage One Complete – Level Up

Posted on

I’ve made it to my destination at  Collier-Seminole State Park at 2:00 PM.

Today’s mileage: 22

Total Mileage Start to Finish: 446.7

Total Time: 9 days, 8 hours


Arrived in Naples safely and will be able to rest and get some stuff organized. I’ll be making decisions about things I really need or don’t need to be carrying with me. Do I really need 10 pairs of socks?

The mosquitoes here are just as atrocious as my sister Michelle had informed me. Fierce and very aggressive. They are worse than zombies because they have wings and are very numerous. One must wear Deep Woods Off like a raincoat whenever outdoors.

A few hours after I arrived it rained pretty hard and I was happy to be indoors at the time. There was some lightning and wouldn’t doubt that some wildfires may spring from it. Not to mention more mosquitoes.

Today I will set up my desktop so I can upload my photos, writing and data files from the road so I have a backup somewhere other than with me. This laptop is not built for the torture I’m putting it though but it’s all I have at this point. If it holds up for any length of time out here, I would certainly “recommend to a friend.” (I think I’ve been reading too many reviews lately)

At this point my thoughts are to travel back northward a bit and head east to avoid long stretches of nothingness in route to Key West. My main concern is being able to get enough water. I carry two bottles with me now and always need to plan on being able to get water when I need it. This means leap frogging from one town to the other with the water I carry. More water means more weight so I’ll need to trim my gear down to allow for it. I must also be prepared for possibly being stranded for a time where water may not be accessible.

I’ve set up my phone for Twitter in an effort to have some simple communication along the way. I won’t be receiving Tweets via phone so if I don’t reply, that’s why. You will be able see my Tweets in the sidebar on the right side of the page.

Thank you for following along with me and adding your comments. It’s very inspiring and a great motivator to keep me moving along.

Special thanks and love to my family who cheer me on and sacrifice some level of comfort in their lives from my new venture.

Thank you to my sponsors for your support and good faith.

Now for a cup of coffee and back to the work at hand! So much to do, so little time. 🙂

My gloves were like new when I started almost 10 days ago

My friends and I the day before I left. Bondo, Moe, and Me

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

5 responses »

  1. Dennis 'bondo' bruno

    Oh ho ho, you see a panther crossing sign don’t you ron!…i see a certain little kitten…ahum…sign. I mean your meew, sorry, new guardian angel. Congradulations my friend. Hope you get a couple of days to relax. Bondo

    Reply
  2. Heading north before going east? You will have to head more north than Alligator Alley to avoid nothingness. The Tamiami Trail (US 41) which you are on now is rather scenic from Collier-Seminole State Park across to Miami. Why avoid that?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

