Training Day 5

Posted on

I think I’ve made more rest stops today than ever before. One of the other items I bought at the bike shop in Lakeland was new handle bar grips. After few hours of riding, the heels of my hands get very achy and I have to continuously reposition  them to make them more comfortable. The new grips aren’t much better but are made of hard rubber. I’ll have to look for something that my hands can sink into and distribute the weight better across my hands.

A bug flew between my sunglasses and my face today. It scared the holy bejeebies out of me. Luckily I wasn’t going too fast and had some room to play with because I did some swerving around trying not to panic or close my eyes too long. I don’t know what kind of bug it was but the sensation of him buzzing on my eye was… electrifying, to say the least. I’m just glad it didn’t have a stinger!

I had to do some real gearing down to tackle some of the inclines with bridges. My speed drops down to about 3-5 MPH and my feet are moving pretty fast. Mentally you just have to sit back and read a book and keep the pedals moving. It gets tempting to just get off and walk it up to the top but somehow it feels like I would be cheating. Just tough it out and cowboy up, I tell myself.

I stopped at a Subway to eat lunch and cool off. When I walked in the first thing I wanted to do was wash my face and hands. One of the employees was moping the floor and had the corridor to the restroom blocked with a bucket and a broom. Just as I tried to duck under the broom handle he came darting out of the kitchen area to stop me. Apparently someone had spilled a soft drink and he didn’t want me to get stuck to the floor, or something. I didn’t really care about getting stuck or slipping or creating footprints on his freshly moped floor. I just wanted to mop my face! I tried to make a move to go in again and he stopped me once more. Then a female employee joined in with him to try and sell me on the idea that I couldn’t walk on his floor.

I said “OK, I’ll just order my sandwich and go in later.” He was pleased. I gave him my order, which took about 3 minutes, and waited for him to turn his back to start making it. When he did, I turned around and ducked under the broom and went into the restroom.

I went right to the sink and looked at my overly tan face in the mirror and then splashed some cool water on it. What a great feeling!

When I was done and drying my face I glanced at the toilet and saw what was probably the

real reason why he didn’t want anyone in the restroom. YUCK! I think I just lost my appetite.

When I came back out I ducked back under the broom and was met with an almost glaring look from the female. “I think someone left you present in there,” I said to her in a matter-of-fact way. She gave a half hearted smile and I got my sandwich, chocolate milk and chips and enjoyed my lunch as best I could.

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

9 responses »

  1. It will be interesting to hear from you at the successful end of this adventure, your appraisal of how bike-friendly our US road system is.

    So far the photos show clear skies and open road, with some shade trees and critters to keep you cool and warm of heart. Keep on keeping on, BSR!

    Reply
    • I can tell you now, there is a mix of very bad and some very excellent “bike-friendly” roads and bike paths. You’ve got be alert all the time and expect the unexpected. I’m consuming so much liquid but taking very few potty breaks. The sweat produced is the best coolant I’ve had. Thanks Kathleen. As I catch up on all my new tasks I’ve created for myself, I’ll get back to Teachers.net and continue my contributions.
      Thank you for your support. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Rizz m effin O! What the heck are you doin buddy?? Wow, stoked for what you’re doing…best of luck man!

    Mike!

    Reply
    • Right back at ya Sizzle Chest! Glad you’re along for the trip. Make yourself at home and grab a Latte. I hope to make it worth your while. Thanks for your support and good wishes, Mike.

      Reply
      • mike larocque

        I’m excited for you man! I will be following your progress and happy to help at any point…dunno if you have my number, but i’m 243.XXXX if you need anything…enjoy and best of luck!

  3. Hello Ron

    My name is Jim Sheridan. I was introduced to your quest, and this blog, via facebook from our mutual friend, Mike LaRocque. Mike and I went to school together in Merritt Island. I moved away in ’94 and now live in Meridian, Idaho (suburb of Boise).

    I think what you are doing is awesome, and look forward to reading your blog and following along with your adventures.

    I’m sure that I will post several comments over the next several months. By the time you are planning your Western half of your trek, we should be good friends!!

    Just know that you now have a supporter in the mountain northwest. I don’t know if you are planning on coming around my way, but if so you won’t be alone out here.

    Until next time, happy and safe peddling.
    Jim

    Reply
  4. Dennis 'bondo' bruno

    How awsome your trip is turning out to be! Is that a ground shot up the side of a denny’s i see? Lol. Talk to you soon pal. Bondo

    Reply
    • I bet you be wishin’ you be me now! LOL! Thanks, Bondo.

      Reply
      • Enjoying following along on your journey! I just have to say, be glad you are not going through Naples during the “love bug” epidemic! We drove from Naples to Orlando and was simply pelted with those things. The car was a disgusting mess.It sounded like it was raining…but it was bugs! We drove by a few people on motorcycles and wondered how in the world they survived being hit by so many of those disgusting bugs! Anyway, best of luck on your journey. Stay safe!

        Carol

Leave a Reply

