Training Day 2

Posted on

Downtown Kissimmee

I rode from St. Cloud to Kissimmee today in search of a good WiFi signal. I stopped at Denny’s to utilize a gift card and use their free WiFi. After getting the log-in screen every 2 minutes I gave up and savored my coffee. Something that Denny’s does well. I took a seat where I could watch my bike laying up against a nice shady tree outside.

I moved on down the road where motels were in abundance. I found one with a good signal and checked in. At this point I just want to say that staying in motels is not part of my bigger plan. But as I ease into this and work out the bugs I’ll be staying in the tent more often. My main goal in addition to training is to make sure I can run my website from the road. This is essential mostly for keeping the ones I love updated without having to make a lot of phone calls. I also hope it will be a good way to inspire others to follow their dreams.

My room is nice and big. I’ll do laundry here tomorrow mainly because, while rushing to leave, I packed some of my laundry from home. Now it all needs to be done. The socks I wear now are too tight. That becomes very clear when I take them off and my legs are still indented like I’m wearing invisible socks. I’ll get myself some of those low cut socks that I hate. They will let my blood flow better to my feet and hopefully my toes won’t numb up on me. Next will be biking shoes. It’s a stiffer shoe that makes pedaling more efficient.


I rode a mile to Publix to get some shampoo, sunscreen and bug repellent. I locked my bike up outside where a security guard was standing.  My mind was at ease. I found everything I needed and came back outside and realized I FORGOT MY KEYS! My bike was locked to a railing and my key is at the motel! I walked back to the motel, got my keys, and walked back. Two more miles I didn’t plan on.

So now I’m catching up. I’m going to wash my hair and plan my next route and get a good nights sleep.

After 10 minutes I remember why I don’t like TV. *CLICK*

 

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

2 responses »

  1. Keep your feet dry and they do have socks for diabetics that don’t feel so tight around your ankles. Maybe you want to try those? xoxo Dee

    Reply
  2. Hey Ron was good to talk with you tonight. Just wanted you to know that Ray was in tonight and he plans on getting a Dennys gift card.
    Keep your feet dry and the wind at your back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

