Last Day In Town

Posted on

Today I will put the last of my stuff in storage and return my Internet cable modem to cancel my service. It’s all free Wi-Fi from here out. I hope to update as often as I can so be patient and don’t be alarmed if a few days go by without any update.

There is a bit of sadness that has been hovering over me the past few days. Sorting through all my relics of the past 20+ years that I’ve lived on the Space Coast. Old paycheck stubs from previous jobs I’ve had. Photos and memories of the people I’ve known through the years. I’ve been making some tough decisions about what stuff to keep and what to throw out.

I plan on leaving just before daylight to avoid some of the local traffic as I pedal out of town. I feel pretty good about having what I need to get going with the exception of sunscreen. My legs will be very vulnerable to the sun as I always wear jeans. Putting on shorts now is going to feel awkward for a while but I’ll have to get used to it in the summertime Florida sun. Anything else I need I’ll be able to get as I go along.

I’ll get a good nights’ sleep but I’m going to watch space shuttle Endeavour return back to Earth early Wednesday morning at 2:35 a.m. EDT. This will probably be the last shuttle landing I’ll see here. There will be one more for Atlantis then the program comes to an end.

© Ron Wynkoop and Bike2Cloud9, 2011.
About bike2cloud9

Recently retired and going to attempt crossing the U.S. on my bicycle. Please become a sponsor or just cheer me on!

7 responses »

  1. Wishing you ‘fair winds and following seas!’

    Reply
    • Thank you, Nancy. I’ve been keeping an eye on the winds here the past few weeks and on average they seem to blowing in a westerly direction. That makes me smile. 🙂

      Reply
  2. Ridding yourself of possessions must feel like shedding a comfortable cocoon in order to stretch your wings and fly…scary at first, but wow, such adventures lie ahead!

    Reply
  3. Hey buddy I know you have wanted to do this for a long time. Now that time is so very close I know you have some deep thoughts of leaving the area. But we all know and wish that we could and would step out of our box and take the next step in growing. May the wind always be at your back.

    Reply
  4. I’m happy for you but sad at the same time. Be safe my brother. Love you bunches. Dee xoxo

    Reply
  5. Mo & i were there when you peddled out of sight this morning. I have to admit the sadness has set in. Going to miss you my brother. Smooth riding, wind to your back, and an awsome journey. Come back soon. Bondo

    Reply
  6. And so the plan is set into motion. Here’s to living a little!
    Looking forward to your updates, Ron. We’re cheering you on…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

